IVF#2 becomes FET#1

I’ve been really slack again in blogging and there’s really no excuse really – originally I was really busy, but things have calmed down at work and as I reflect back – it was all in God’s perfect timing!

Here’s a quick recap of how my cycle has been.

Week 2 (June 15 – 21)

Responded really well to the meds – infact a little too well I had to do a freeze all cycle because if we had done a fresh transfer and resulted in pregnancy, the doctors were worried I would end up in ICU with OHSS.

Week 3 (June 22 – 28)

Egg retrieval – my excellent response to the stims resulted in 18 eggs being retrieved. I felt horrible after the retrieval. Very bloated, out of breath, light headed, and all round ill. I was supposed to go in for a scan, but was quite busy at work that I just pushed through. Thinking back now, I think if I had gone for a scan, I possibly would have been admitted with OHSS. Thankfully I somehow managed to recover.

14 of the 18 eggs fertilized on day one.

Waiting for my egg retrevial

Week 4 (June 29 – July 5)

This was supposed to be transfer week.

By day 5 there were on 2 of 14 embryo’s to freeze. This was a huge shock to me as hubby as I were discussing potentials of transferring 2 and then another one later and what do we do with the rest and so on and so on. It never once crossed my mind that we would only have two to freeze.

A very good friend of mine, put things into excellent perspective, she said, “You only need one – you already have double than what you need!” it hit home and put my mind at ease as I focused on the fact that God gives life and despite the circumstances, God is able to perform miracles.

Scheduled to go in for a scan on day one of my period – and thank goodness we didn’t do a fresh cycle because by the end of the week, I had got my period! Scan, all looks okay – put on a the pill because my ovaries are still very busy – the pill would slow things down and at my next period would start a medicated cycle to prepare the lining. In addition to the meds, the dr ordered an endo scape a week before next period is due – this is supposed be amazing… Was rather nervous for the procedure.

Week 5 (July 6 – 12)

How awesome is God’s timing! This was possibly the busiest week ever in work history! We managed to pull off a very successful event with 50 people over a period of 3 days. I loved every minute of it! By now I had no choice but to feel better! by the end of the event, I walked in the door at home and cried, Relieved and overwhelmed.

and although I loved every minute of what I was doing at work, I was under a lot of stress and pressure and know that my body would not have coped with the stress and pressure of work and growing a baby…

Thank you Jesus!

Week 6 (July 13 – 19)

Rest – the storm has passed. Time to focus on me and getting a healthy little home for our little embryo’s. With lots of questions and uncertainties – we meet with Dr. G again and he says he’ll do the endo scrape then – two days before the scheduled date which he says is fine. I start asking questions about egg quality and what happened that there are not many to freeze – Dr G explained that it may be because of the incubators – he said I have excellent fertilization rates so there’s no sperm issue, there seems to be a decline after day 3 which makes him think that it could possibly be that our embryo’s would grow better in a natural environment which if this cycle fails we could explore the option of GIFT – where they’ll put embryo’s and sperm into my fallopian tubes to fertilize and make their way to the uterus.

To be honest, I haven’t done any research on this because at this stage, my hope is in Jesus… one day at a time.

Oh – the endo scrape wasn’t bad at all! It was like a pap smear – inject a local anaesthetic into the cervix and scratch the womb lining with a catheter – its supposed to send a repair message and lots of blood flow to the uterus to help with implantation. Had a little spotting after but was so fine!

Week 7 (July 20 – 26)

Some more rest and taking it easy! Start period and get ready to start with meds for lining. 4 x Estropause tabs 2 x daily.

Week 8 (July 27 – August 2)

I travel to PE for work this week and welcome the break, plus – I got to spend some valuable time with my cousin who lives there. He had a sleep over at the hotel with me and I introduced a 8 year old to hotel life! He loved the idea of ordering room service and being able to lie in a warm bed and just watch TV!

Still on estropause. Scan again next week.

Week 9 (August 3 – 9)

Still on estropause – Dr. is so impressed with the lining that he calls another Dr. to come and have a look at ‘waves’ in my uterus – he says that they don’t see it very often and what they did see, was the best they’d seen. Its apparently caused from contractions at the fertile time which helps the embryo travel from the fallopian tubes to the uterus and further help with implantations. How amazing! I was so chuffed with my ‘unicorn’ uterus contractions.

Week 10 (August 10 – 16)

Transfer week – on leave for this entire week and I LOVE IT! I arrange to have coffee’s with my friend and mom. Help out at church for the Ladies retreat on the weekend, help our Pastor put some proposals together. Even though I spent a lot of the time working – it was awesome! I could do this all the time… Wednesday go for sozo and reflexology.

Thursday – transfer day. I fill my bladder up too quickly that I have to empty it and start again – I’m last on the list. Go in for the transfer and ask Franco to record it. Unfortunately we didn’t see as much as the last time. Dr struggles a little with the angle of my uterus – could be due to scar tissue that its difficult to reach the opening of my uterus. The procedure is quite uncomfortable – not to painful. There’s pressure on your bladder and then more pressure from down below… thankfully is over quite quickly.

FEET FET1 FET

Friday – go for reflexology and head off with friends, mom and sisters to a ladies retreat for the weekend with our church. What an awesome spirit filled weekend. I was in a bit of an unusual space over the weekend – having peace about all situations I am currently in.

Week 11 (Aug 17 – 23)

Week one of the TWW.

A few twinges and period like cramping, on and off which I know could mean either a period is coming or implantation. A few occasions where I felt nauseous after eating. (which could also just be because I ate too much)… sore boobs toward the end of the week.  All of which could be either a period coming on or positive pregnancy. That being said, I didn’t experience any of the above with our 1st IVF which resulted in a negative.

Week 12 (Aug 24 and waiting)

Week two of the TWW

Lucky for us the TWW is not as long as two weeks – its two days short and for those of you who know, in the tww – two days is two days. We are doing bloods tomorrow morning. Hubby has said that we won’t do a home pregnancy tests – we must wait for bloods. (the last time I did a test the morning of our blood results and it was negative, but because I had so much hope in the process I shrugged it off as too early to test) needless to say we were devastated when we got the results!

Oh boy! I am so so so nervous for tomorrow.

I have absolutely no control over the results. I am struggling to find an analogy to how I am feeling right now and there are none.

Praying – hoping – trusting – please Jesus! Please God may these results be positive, may the pains I have be our little babies knitting in my womb. You know them by name and you love them already!

Thank you Jesus.

Leave a comment